British dependent territory of Gibraltar

Ever since claimed by Spain, notably during the Franco era (1939-'75), this rock has been a British colony since the treaty of Utrecht in 1713 awarded the territory to the recently United Kingdom. It was part of Spain (Castile) from 1462 to 1704. The name goes back to a Berber chief, Tarik-ibn-Ziyad, the Governor of Tangier, who in 711 conquered the rock for Islam. The government site tells us: 'Gibraltar becomes known as Jebal Tarik (Mountain of Tarik) from which it takes its present name.' A superstition claims that the British will continue to control the Rock until the last of the famous 'Barbary Apes.'

In 1969 the first constitution gave the residents a say in government. In 2006 a new constitution was agreed, giving the residents even more control over their life. An agreement in 2006 with Spain has also freed up relations, allowing, as the most visible feature, the shared use of the airport which lies on the strip between the Rock and Spanish territory. Interestingly, for the EU Parliament elections, Gibraltar is part of England's South West constituency.

Prime Minister Peter Caruana.

Population: 28,750

Government website

UK government Gibraltar site

Unofficial site

Gibraltar was fundamental for Spanish protestants during the 19th century, prior to the 1869 revolution, when religious freedom was declared in Spain. Many Spanish converts to evangelical Christianity were able to take refuge here, including Juan Bautista Cabrera, later first bishop of the Spanish Reformed Episcopal Church (IERE - Anglican). He is known for the many hymns which he wrote or translated, sadly unknown in many recently planted churches.

List of religious places of worship (not just evangelical or Spanish speaking!): here